Refill / Pour

One simple coffee.

That was all it took.

To make things clear.

(Well, to be honest, there was nothing simple about that beautiful cup of Geisha Panama Finca Elida that I had this afternoon at Pacamara. But anyway…)

After coffee, I decided to walk home on a whim. But as I walked, the cogs began to turn – and some things God’s been whispering all week burst into life in my spirit.

 

I feel sad every time I pour out that last drop of coffee. My internal voice just whines: “Nooooo it’s over…!”

If only my mug refilled magically each time.

“Fill me up, fill me up; till I’m running over…”

Give, and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom. For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you. (Luke 6:38 NKJV)

 

All week my prayer was that I’d be a bringer of Joy, a carrier of His Presence.

Because the truth is that even as we give, we are receiving so much more.

That just like a mug that magically refills itself – as we pour out into the lives around us, God pours out into our lives from His abundance.

We give from an overflow.

And no one puts new wine into old wineskins; or else the new wine bursts the wineskins, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. But new wine must be put into new wineskins. (Mark 2:22 NKJV)

That we are to be like the wineskins – stretched and renewed that we might have an even greater capacity to Love.

That as we step out further and further, the more we realise how wide and long and high and deep is the infinite ocean that is Christ’s love for you and me.

 

All week I kept finding myself humming this verse from an old song…

“Ask of Me, and I will give you nations. As an inheritance for you, as an inheritance for you.

My children, ask of Me, and I will give you nations. As an inheritance for you, ask of Me.”

 

How. How can we reach the nations? How is that even possible?

Not by human strength, nor by human wisdom.

 

All He asks is “Whom shall I send? Who will go? Who will go for us?”

Will He hear the voice of a faithful generation? An obedient generation?

Like the ones that have gone before.

Samuel. Isaiah. Joseph. Jacob. Moses. Ananias. Caleb. Abraham. Jesus Himself.

Saying… “Here, here I am.”

 

For if you remain completely silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will perish. Yet who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?

(Esther 4:14 NKJV)

We are a chosen generation. Called and purposed.

Jeremiah 1:4-10 (NKJV)

The Prophet Is Called

Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying:

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you;
Before you were born I sanctified you;
I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”

Then said I:

“Ah, Lord God!
Behold, I cannot speak, for I am a youth.”

But the Lord said to me:

“Do not say, ‘I am a youth,’
For you shall go to all to whom I send you,
And whatever I command you, you shall speak.
Do not be afraid of their faces,
For I am with you to deliver you,” says the Lord.

Then the Lord put forth His hand and touched my mouth, and the Lord said to me:

“Behold, I have put My words in your mouth.
10 See, I have this day set you over the nations and over the kingdoms,
To root out and to pull down,
To destroy and to throw down,
To build and to plant.”

 

Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity. (1 Timothy 4:12 NKJV)

 

May we never lose sight of who we are in Him.

May we forever bask in the infinite ocean of His Love.

Leave a Reply

