Because of.

I think I’m in a ‘let’s share what I’ve learnt in my quiet time’ phase hahaha, but hmm why not. Never know what might come out of it.

So I proceeded with Colossians 2 this morning after yesterday.


 

Wisdom (v2-3): “…encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.”

It’s funny how sometimes you find yourself in situations where you have to offer wisdom/ideas/thoughts and you’re like ‘oh dear I have no wisdom to share here.’. I guess the challenge here is not merely to acknowledge our own inadequacies, but to recognise that we have full access to the One who holds all wisdom and knowledge. Many a times recently, I have had to ask for wisdom in various situations (whether for myself or someone else) because I honestly had nothing to offer; be it words or actions. And well, He never fails me.


The charge (v6-7): “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him,rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness (see Col 3:17 below).”

17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:17 (NIV)

I can’t seem to recall the exact verse, but there was something about continuing to work on our faith and guarding it. In Philippians 4:14, Paul talked about “pressing on”. And yeah, our faith is a work-in-progress, a journey. We have to be watchful for the enemy lurks about like a thief, seeking to “steal, kill and destroy” (John 10:10).

An illustration people always use to describe the faith journey is like going up a river – if you’re not advancing, the current is taking you back. Keep pressing on, keep advancing.

From the days of John the Baptist until now, the kingdom of heaven has been forcefully advancing, and forceful men lay hold of it.

Matthew 11:12 (NIV84)

24 Make every effort to enter through the narrow door, because many, I tell you, will try to enter and will not be able to.

Luke 13:24 (NIV)

16 “The Law and the Prophets were proclaimed until John. Since that time, the good news of the kingdom of God is being preached, and everyone is forcing their way into it.

Luke 16:16 (NIV)

Of course, faith is not determined by our works – just to clear that up.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.

Ephesians 2:8 (NIV)

But there is an element of having to press in, to claim new spiritual territory. To guard our walk with Christ (Prov 4:23 talks about guarding our hearts above all else).


Thankfully, we have fullness in Christ (v10), who has all power and authority, as well as having been circumcised of our sinful nature (v11).

We are alive in Him, forgiven. (v12-13). For He triumphed, took it all away and nailed it all to the cross (v14-15).


Back to living it right. I can live it right because of Christ.

Because of Christ, I am free. I am clean. I am forgiven.

Sin no longer has a hold on me.

I am triumphant, victorious in my Lord.

For sin and death could not hold him down, He is alive.

He is the risen King, seated in majesty.

He has overcome.

33 ‘I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.’

John 16:33 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

