that voice.

Sunday was kinda great, shall just copy-paste my FB status hurhur lazy.

“Long productive day in church, loved it though – sermons that spoke to my heart, good convos and laughter with the !Audacious family, shadowing in the ‘box’ again for AV, £2 chili for lunch, sushi for dinner and blessed with a lift home :)”

Ps Glyn spoke in AM service and the one thing that stood out to me was when he was referring to Mark 9: 14-29. How the father had faith in Jesus and brought his demon-possessed son to the disciples to have the evil spirit cast out, seeing the association the disciples had with Jesus. How we should recognise our significance, that we are associated with Christ.

But as it went, the disciples couldn’t cast the demon out and in v19…

Jesus said to them, “You faithless people! How long must I be with you? How long must I put up with you? Bring the boy to me.” (Mark 9:19 NLT)

BOOM. Whatever obstacles/difficulties/struggles, just bring it to Him. Like in v.20, when the boy was brought to Jesus, the evil spirit saw Jesus and threw the boy to the ground because…

…that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow,
in heaven and on earth and under the earth,
and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord,
to the glory of God the Father. (Phil 2:8-11 NLT)

Bish pah boom! Every knee shall bow. Every stronghold/obstacle/addiction/sickness etc HAS to bow to the King.

Funny part comes now.

When Jesus asked about the boy’s history of being possessed, the father said it was like that ever since the kid was born and asked Jesus to have mercy and help ‘if He can’.

“What do you mean, ‘If I can’?” Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.”

The father instantly cried out, “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!” (Mark 9:23-24 NLT)

HAHAHA “What do you mean, ‘if I can?'” Attitude on there, woop!

And there was another story about a factory worker dying on the factory floor after a workplace accident and he was crying out for any Christian to talk to him because he wanted to get right with God before he died. No one stepped forward. One of the workers was Christian, but he stepped back into the crowd quietly and retreated to the back of the room. At the funeral, another worker remembered and said, “Hey you’re a Christian. I know you are, I see you in a suit holding your Bible going to church on Sunday. Why didn’t you speak up?”

“My life closed my voice.”

Don’t let the darkness rob us of our voice. Don’t let the way we live strip us of that authority that we’ve been given.

And then there was PM service with Ps Stuart.

Offhand I can’t remember much of the actual sermon, just some random bits about relationships in our life that actually need to be cut out and how new relationships need to be built. But I remember what was running through my head.

I just realised I’ve lost many giants in my life. That somewhere along the way, my giants have collapsed, drifted away or they are just not around anymore for whatever reasons. Keep thinking of my TM412/Frontline giants from when I just started attending church hm. Like there’s a desperate void waiting to be filled again by people who challenge me, stretch me, inspire me, etc. As I was sitting at the back of the hall in the AV box, I just felt a sudden sense of loss. Need more of this ‘significant relationships’ in my life.

And how I thought I’d be different from who I am now. How I thought I would have been spurred on to greater things. I don’t know. Felt a little disappointed with me.

Think that was why I was so shattered by the end of the day, what with sushi after PM service. Thankfully had a lift home 😀



(can’t stand the video, the video by the original artist was a shorter cut so had to use this blah.)

“Stay”
(Jimmy Needham feat. Lizi Bailey)

You lead me like the dawning of the day
You lead me like April leads into may
You lead me like the stone you rolled away
You take my hand and we will run away

Just like a child I rest upon your knee
Just like a song, your love, it sings to me
Inside your arms I find a symphony
You take my hand and then we run away

To the place where my fears have no voice at all
Only sound in my ear, the whisper of your call
This moment is frozen
I’m not going anywhere
I’d linger forever
If only I could stay here

Remember all those years ago we met
All I recall are days of past regret
And you felt so far but I had never left
Just wanting you to take my hand and run

To the place where my fears have no voice at all
The only sound in my ear, the whisper of your call
This moment is frozen
I’m not going anywhere
I’d linger forever
If only I could stay
If only I could stay

In the place where my fears have no voice at all
Only sound in my ear, the whisper
In the place where my fears have no voice at all
Only sound in my ear, the whisper
This moment is frozen
I’m not going anywhere
Linger forever
If only I could stay
If I could stay here

Leave a Reply

