Don’t underestimate the power of the shuffle button.

Just randomly clicked shuffle play on my itunes after watching yet another video… and this song came on. Immediately memories of my faith journey in secondary school and TM412/Frontline Youth came rushing back. It’s true that it gets harder when you get older. It’s true. I don’t understand why, but it’s true.

(and Home by Michael Buble has to start playing right after… hello ah, shuffle button… quit it. Too early on for any real melancholy, luckily for me. )

Just reminded of how I returned home in summer to find out the little and big things that happened. How Mum was/is (?) reading the Bible/Daily Bread/praying was the main thing. Just wow. I don’t know… I mean I get the whole ‘yeah God is really taking care of my family while I’m away’ but at the same time, I’m floundering like a little buoy in the raging storm. Although yes, still floating despite it all.

And the shuffle program is still working magic in the background… Love is Hard by James Morrison.

I see lovers in the streets
Walking without a care
They wear it out loud
Like there’s something in the air
Oh well, I dont care

They’re treading lightly
No, they don’t sink in
There’s no tracks to follow
They don’t care where they’re going

And if they’re lucky, yeah
They’ll, they’ll get to see
And if they’re really, really lucky
They’ll get to feel

And it kicks so hard, it breaks your bones
Cuts so deep, it hits your soul
Tears your skin, and makes your blood flow
It’s better that you know that love is hard

Love takes hostages
And gives them pain
Gives someone the power
To hurt you again and again
Oh, but they don’t care

Oh, and if they’re lucky, yeah
They’ll, they’ll get to see
And if they’re really, really lucky
They’ll, they’ll get to feel

And if they’re, they’re truly blessed
Then they’ll get to believe
And if you’re damned
You’ll never let yourself be deceived

And it kicks so hard, it breaks your bones
Cuts so deep, it hits your soul
Tears your skin, and makes your blood flow
It’s better that we know that love is hard

It kicks so hard, it breaks your bones
Cuts so deep, it hits your soul
Tears your skin, and makes your blood flow
It’s better that we know

It kicks so hard, it breaks your bones
It cuts so deep, it hits your soul
Tears your skin, and makes your blood flow
It’s better that we know that love is hard
Love is hard, love is hard
If it was easy it wouldn’t mean nothing, no

__________________________________________________________________

And this gem of a song, Miss a Thing (Acoustic) by Jimmy Needham. That chorus.

Last night I dreamed
That I was sneaking up on Babylon
I awoke to find it was the very street I’m on
I closed my eyes but what I see won’t go away
Away

The city closed the shelter down the street
We’d rather pay to save a tree
Then give a brother something warm to eat
It breaks my heart that we’re so incomplete
Yeah, Oh

Maybe there’s a reason for it
But its so hard to see so many broken people
Living in this lonely city
It feels right to give up, I get up
I realize your blood can cover all these stains
And You don’t ever miss a thing
No, no, You don’t ever miss a thing

I catch the news on channel 3 about once a week
But You see so much more
You see the husband flee the scene
You hear the woman hit the floor
Crying out “Can you still save me, Lord”
Ohh

Maybe there’s a reason for it
But its so hard to see so many broken people
Living in this lonely city
It feels right to give up, I get up
I realize your blood can cover all these stains
And You don’t ever miss a thing

You see it all cuz there is nothing you can’t see
You can free us
cuz there is nothing you can’t free
And even when we fall
You come and meet us at our knees
You don’t ever miss a thing
No

Maybe there’s a reason for it
But its so hard to see so many broken people
Living in this lonely city
It feels right to give up, I get up
I realize your blood can cover all these stains
You don’t ever miss a thing

Maybe there’s a reason for it
But its so hard to see so many broken people
Living in this lonely city
It feels right to give up, I get up
I realize your blood can cover all these stains
You don’t ever miss a thing

power of the shuffle button.

Leave a Reply

