Thank You For Being My Best Friend

“Thank you for believing in me when I was too weak and exhausted to believe in myself. Thank you for pushing me, for repeating those affirmations that donโ€™t mean anything in inspirational films but mean everything when someone who cares about you says them. Thank you for not judging me when I did something really stupid, but also thanks for telling me I was an idiot and probably shouldnโ€™t have done the stupid thing. Thank you for always being honest.”

Not one to have a best friend, but blessed enough to have friends who actually fit this letter in one way or another. ๐Ÿ™‚

And of course, Jesus.

Thought Catalog

Dear Best Friend,

I originally wanted to write you a letter about why youโ€™re my best friend and saturate it with all the generic reasons and adorable anecdotes, but Iโ€™m not going to do that because you already know why youโ€™re my best friend, duh. If you didnโ€™t, we probably wouldnโ€™t have remained friends all these years. Ten years? Thirteen? I actually have no idea.

Of course I donโ€™t โ€” I have no concept of time whatsoever. If it were up to me no oneโ€™s birthday or graduation or other important event would be remembered, because thatโ€™s the type of person I am; I canโ€™t make it anywhere on time, or even on day, and I tend to forget where Iโ€™m going to begin with. But you remember things like this, and you know exactly how long weโ€™ve been best friends. That will be the first thing you tell meโ€ฆ

View original post 571 more words

Leave a Reply

