inconvenient.

Wow 9 different readers last night. It’s kinda weird not knowing who they were since I know who the usual 2-3 readers are, but oh well.

Good day today, had a lift to church and was on Audacious! Students connections duty. I think the ‘being on duty’ part helped me shed some inhibitions about talking to people. I guess I just need a push now and then. Service was refreshing in a sense – worship and praise was a good start to the day. Sort of forgotten how good it is for the soul after being away for so long and it prepares you to tune in during sermon. Ps Glyn gave a good message about how Christianity is inconvenient hehe. But it is a fact that we get to choose our inconveniences and we choose to be faithfully inconvenienced by the Cross. Especially how he said that every time we do what Christ calls of us to do (e.g. forgiving others, turning the other cheek etc), we are nailing our colours to the mast. There’s no turning back after that, because from that moment on, all eyes are on you. You are the testimony. You are their gateway to seeing Christ. You are the bringer of Good News.

(Hi Flo our whatsapp convo happened here haha)

That got me thinking about the whole Singapore life and my UK life thing. Never really thought about it this way until JA started using that term around me. And…. I guess that disconnect is quite real when things happen back home. Major things, minor things, the seemingly insignificant things… they catch up with me. Times like that I hate actually, with every inch of my being (if that is even the right phrase, it sounds weird). I guess because my tendency is to show up physically/drop a text/call/message or something, it really doesn’t go down well with me not being there. Totally clashes with who I am. Gah.

But then again, I guess it’s not me who actually needs to be there.

Cornerstone (Hillsong Live)

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus’ name

Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When Darkness seems to hide His face
I rest on His unchanging grace
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil
My anchor holds within the veil

Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all
He is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone
Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless stand before the throne.

I guess it’s the same old truth. It’s in times when we realise how small we are and how little power/control we have over our lives even as we try grabbing at life, that we see how much we need God. That only a Saviour like Him can be our Answer. That in spite of how the world may seem to be crumbling down around us, the floor disintegrating from right beneath our feet, the clock seemingly running out… He has the beginning and the end.

Both the beginning and the end, He holds in His hands.

Boom.

I’m still afraid. I’ll admit it. Because after all, I’m human. We fear the unknown, … as well as the known.

Perspective perspective perspective.

Need some crazy in my life. Good crazy. Hahaha.

3 thoughts on “inconvenient.

  1. Pingback: torn. | Journey

Leave a Reply

